Program Schedule

Our programs are presented via Zoom, courtesy of the Ann Arbor District Library.

Upcoming Programs

Sunday, May 15, 4 p.m. Eastern
What She Ate and Why I Wrote About It: Women, Food and Biography
Laura Shapiro, author of What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories

Past Programs

Sunday, April 24, 2022
Unpacking the Meatpacking District Legacy of Ottman & Company, New York’s Storied Meat Purveyor 
Jacquelyn Ottman, fifth-generation member of a pioneering family of NYC butchers
Order the book.
View the recording.

Sunday, March 20, 2022
Victory Gardens: How a Nation of Vegetable Gardeners Helped to Win the War
with Judith Sumner, botanist, educator and garden historian
No recording available.

Sunday, February 20, 2022
The Provisions of War
Roundtable discussion hosted by Prof. Justin Nordstrom, Penn State Univ.
View the recording.

Sunday, January 16, 2022
The Secret History of Home Economics
with journalist and author Danielle Dreilinger
View the recording.

Sunday, November 21
Prohibition and Repeal with Tammy Coxen, author of Cheers to Michigan
List of cocktail recipes
No recording available.

Sunday, October 31
German-American Foodways
Antje Petty, Max Kade Institute, University of Wisconsin
View the recording

Sunday, September 19
Early Mexican Cookbooks with Maite Gómez-Rejón
View the recording.

Sunday, June 20
The Marmalade Mavens with Sarah B. Hood
No recording available.

Sunday, May 16
Puerto Rican Cuisine in America with Oswald Rivera
View the recording

Sunday, April 18
Black Smoke: African Americans and the United States of Barbecue with James Beard Book Award Winner Adrian Miller (adrianemiller.com).
View the recording.

Sunday, March 21
Creating Sunset Magazine’s Cooking Department: A Study of Men, Women and Cooking in the 1930s with food historian Jennifer Pagano.
View the recording.

Sunday, February 21
Baking Powder Wars: The Cutthroat Food Fight That Revolutionized Cooking with food historian, educator and author Linda Civitello.
View the recording.

Sunday, January 17
Sweet Greeks: First Generation Immigrant Confectioners in the Heartland with author Ann Flesor Beck, a third-generation confectioner and independent scholar.

Sunday, December 6
All Stirred Up: Suffrage Cookbooks, Food and the Battle for Women’s Right to Vote with Laura Kumin (laurakumin.com).

Sunday, November 15
Apples in the Midwestern Imagination with Lucy M. Long

Sunday, October 18
Manoomin: The Story of Wild Rice in Michigan with Barbara Barton
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Sunday, September 20
Chinese Food: Customs and Culture with Frances Kai-Hwa Wang

 

Leave a Reply